Tranny. SFW.

Not too long ago, I bought a new car.  Of course, when I say “New,” I mean “new to me.”  It’s a 2004, so it’s the newest vehicle I’d ever owned.  Neat, right? 

Well…

I drove it and kicked the tires, so to speak, before I forked over the dough.  I did not dissect the transmission.  Turns out, my vehicle is known for a bit of planned obsolescence in that department.  I have a Ford Explorer (Exploder) that can’t back up. 

“Onward and upward!  Never look back!”  Great attitude for life.  Terrible attitude for parking.  I’ve spent the past week strategically picking places to stop that do not require that I reverse.  The good news is that there is a shop quite close to my house with a sterling reputation and intimate knowledge of my particular problem.  The bad news is that expertise like that isn’t free.  Honestly, it shouldn’t be – I’ll pay for a job well done, but it is still going to hurt the ol’ wallet. 

Speaking of shifting, let’s talk New Year’s resolutions. 

Wait, what?  Stick with me.  It’ll make sense.  Or not.  Whatever.  My blog, so deal with it.

Shortly before Xmas, my gym (or box) put a hold on classes so that the coaches could have a life during the holidays.  Awesome.   I’m all for it.  All work and no play, as they say.  Except, it kind of nuked my inertia.  Due to my peculiar work and sleep schedules, it isn’t easy making sure I get up in time to hit the gym, and they aren’t open when I get off work.  So it was that classes have resumed following the new year, and I haven’t made it back in yet. 

Talk about backward.  Most people scramble into the gym to give the resolution to be fit a shot.  I hit the snooze button despite how much I enjoy already being in decent shape.  BUT TODAY!  I put it in drive.  We’re starting an 8 week program called the Whole Life Challenge .  I’ll be doing my very best to eat Paleo, supplement my gym routine with small workouts and stretching and the like every day, and track all this stuff on the site.  It’s game-ifying  the entire healthy and active lifestyle.  Talk about drinking the Kool-Aid!  (I plan on talking about drinking the Kool-Aid in the future.) 

One more shift I need to make: so far, I’ve succeeded to a moderate degree with the last few years’ resolutions.  I can keep those going (or restart, as I just discussed).  The one area that is an outright failure is my dedication to writing.  I love to write.  Really.  And once upon a time, I was good at it.  Maybe I still am.  Maybe it’s a muscle that I’m going to have to practice flexing again.  Regardless,  I need to resume transmission of the written word.  I have a couple of fictional lives I’ve built, and those people deserve attention.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

